Can someone make a video tutorial of how to create & customize a routing profile (or walk through the process in much greater written detail)

I am self-taught in html, css, javascript, arcmap, qgis, leaflet, mapbox gl api, over the past four years. I have been studying and reviewing the documentation for teaching myself how to make a custom bicycle routing algorithm for graphhopper. While the documentation is extensive, it is very far from straight forward.

Can someone just put out a 15 minute video or something or anything that walks through the process of implementing a customized routing profile? Or just write up a detailed reply here and please ELi5 it (Explain it like I’m 5 years old).

What I’m trying to do… I’ve built an interactive webmap with data initially downloaded from OpenStreetMap, modified in QGIS, Uploaded to mapbox, and a webpage built in github pages that visualizes the data layers in the mapbox API… (See image below)

I want to implement my own customized bicycle routing profile that more heavy weights my curated road network and can provide AtoB directions.

As I understand broadly I need to:

1. Setup my own local graphhopper playground to make my changes to the code
  2. change the code - specifically the weights based on the documentation here. And this is where it begins to be extremely unclear… That link says " Create a subclass of GraphHopper and overwrite createWeighting" There is no createWeighting file… Also All the files I do try to modify in intellij are read-only (even though I clicked File > Make File Writable, and Tools > Vim Emulator box is not checked)…

So I need to modify the createWeighting file? But I also need to create my own FlagEncoderFactory? But I need to extend Graphhopper before that? And it might be easier to do this in a minimum-graphhopper environment which is less confusing?