Routing for emergency vehicle

I’m trying to use graphhopper to plan routes for our emergency service response cars that use motorway access gates and service routes. I’m very new to Java - I’m just trying to see if I can do a proof of concept to take to my bosses so we can engage with a programmer.

I’ve successfully installed a local java installation from source and can use it to create standard car routes. I’ve tried editing the restricted values section of CarTagParser.java to:

restrictedValues.add("agricultural");
    restrictedValues.add("forestry");
    restrictedValues.add("delivery");
    restrictedValues.add("military");

restrictedValues.remove("emergency");
restrictedValues.remove("private");
restrictedValues.remove("no");
restrictedValues.remove("restricted");

I’ve also removed the recent update which restricts access for cars to service roads with emergency access.

I’ve deleted the files in graph-cache and then re-started the application without any success.

Here are two different examples of the access routes, one that includes the tag emergency: designated and one that just appears as a service highway.

When I select the local MVT layer, no overlay or information is displayed for these roads - could it be that they’re not being recognised by the OSM reader?

Instead of changing the CarFlagEncoder I recommend to use the new RoadsFlagEncoder instead and then restrict access as you need it. E.g. using a custom_model like:

{
 "speed": [
  {
   "if": "true",
   "limit_to": 130
  },{
   "if": "road_class == RESIDENTIAL || road_class == SERVICE",
   "limit_to": 30
  },{
   "if": "road_class == UNCLASSIFIED",
   "limit_to": 40
  },{
   "if": "road_class == TERTIARY",
   "limit_to": 70
  },{
   "if": "road_class == SECONDARY",
   "limit_to": 90
  },{
   "if": "road_class == PRIMARY",
   "limit_to": 100
  }
 ],
 "priority": [
    {
   "if": "car$access == false",
   "multiply_by": 0.2
  },
  {