Route optimization with multiple vehicles and traffic

Hi there,

I am new to routing / optimization and a bit lost with all the APIs available with Graphhopper. I hope i can get some guidance from the community.

I am building a solution for countryside veterinarians to optimize their route when going in remote areas.

The inputs:

• A list of clients to visit (already geocoded)

• A departure time and date

• An average time spent at client location

• A number of veterinary/vehicles 

The expected result:

• The best route to visit all of the listed client

• An estimated arrival time for each client location (taking into consideration the time spent at previous client location and ideally the traffic based on date and time)

Requirements:

• When sending the location of each client, we need to be able to provide an ID with it so when displaying the results on the website/app we can display them using their name and not lat/long.

Is that feasible with Graphhopper ? Which API should i use ?

Thanks for your help,

Hi Edouard,
Actually what you would need is the ‘route optimization api’. Thats the api that can create multiple routes based on the vehicles available and delivery/pickup specifications.
Documentation can be found here:
Documentation - GraphHopper Directions API
This is a perfect use case for it :slight_smile:
If you have more specific questions, be happy to help.

1 Like

@Anthony i have a specific case as below.

1. 100 drop points.
  2. far end of the points would be around 30 km.
  3. 10 vehicles would be there.

my issue is that optimization api doesn’t use all of 10 vehicles. if it finds a way to use say 5 vehicles, it returns that which is great for some use cases, but not for us… is there any solution to this problem?

There are several ways to do that:

• You can use the objective “min-max” which tries to minimize the longest route, e.g. by adding another vehicle