Loading from Cassandra

Hi, newbie here.

Rather than using files, I was wondering if I could export the pbf data into Cassandra (or any other database). If so, where do I need to start from? is there any documentation about the data structures?

You would need to implement a new DataAccess type. The knowledge of the graph data structure is not necessary, still it is a bit described here: https://github.com/graphhopper/graphhopper/blob/master/docs/core/technical.md

See also this related topic: Readonly DataAccess for InputStreams instead of Files

Is your use case ‘making graph updates available in a distributed setup’?

This is for a academic research project. I am more interested in processing data in a server-less setting, where the data is stored in Cassandra and Redis and we don’t have any soft-state in the RAM. Then when http queries come in, servlets do the computation to find shortest paths by fetching graph data from Redis (or Cassandra). Do you think it is possible?

The ultimate goal is to first transfer the data from the pbf files to Cassandra, and then import them into Redis(for example for a city) for faster processing. Is creating a DataAccess type that reads/writes data from/to Redis all that I need to do in terms of data management?

Should do it. But I’m now unsure what you want to achieve. What is the problem that you cannot install GraphHopper via the default storage? Also redis and cassandra use RAM. Maybe you need the MMAP_STORE setting to reduce the RAM size requirement?

The problem with using the default storage is that in my setting, applications don’t have access to the file system or RAM (similar to the Google App Engine). Stateless servlets run for a limited amount of time and could do some processing using the database. My goal is to do routing (with live traffic updates) in such an environment. For secondary storage I’ll have Cassandra and instead of RAM, I’ll have something similar to Memcache or Redis.