How are drivers used in jsprit?

I’m new to jsprit and have been playing with it for a few days. Noticed there is a driver class (com.graphhopper.jsprit.core.problem.driver.Driver) which has seemingly useful properties like earlieststart, latestend, homelocation, etc.

However, I can’t seem to find how do the drivers relate to a Job or VehicleRoutingProblem…
There is no VehicleRoutingProblem.addDriver function, or anything obvious that makes it clear how to add driver information to a VRP as far as I can tell. Any examples?

Currently, Driver has no functionality. Everything which in the real
world belongs to drivers is currently modelled with vehicles. However, I
see it as placeholder for future developments. There might be good
reasons in future to separate drivers from vehicles.

1 Like

Everything which in the real world belongs to drivers is currently modeled with vehicles.

I’m trying to model the following situation but can’t figure out how to do it:

Let’s say I have a heterogeneous fleet of 3 vehicles V1, V2, V3 with different capacities, c1, c2 and c3 respectively. Also let’s say I have
3 drivers D1, D2, D3 with different working times (earliest start, latest end) tw1, tw2, tw3. The drivers are not associated with any particular vehicle and can drive any of the three vehicles as needed.
UPDATE: I forgot to mention that the jobs (pickups, deliveries, services, etc) that this fleet will carry out also have Time windows

How can I model a VRP and solve it with jsprit considering this case?

I was thinking I could declare 3 vehicles for each real vehicle, each with one of the 3 different time windows of the drivers, for example for V1:

V1_1 (with c1, tw1)
V1_2 (with c1, tw2)
V1_3 (with c1, tw3)

However the problem obviously is that I end up with 9 vehicles, and in reality I only have 3. Is there a way to define that despite the fact that there are 9 vehicles the solver should only use 3? Or any other ideas how to model this case?

Hi @jmfairlie,