Good setup for self-hosting GraphHopper + price estimate

Hi, I am considering switching to GraphHopper to handle routing (and probably map matching) for my web application with the following requirements:

• world-wide coverage
  • with elevation data
  • up-to-date OSM data
  • several routing profiles: foot, car and a few flavors of bike (road, gravel, etc)
  • currently 25k daily requests but consistently increasing

As I have no experience with setting up and running a server, I need some advice about:

• the type of server to rent (and maybe provider)
  • how to automate OSM data updates and preprocessing for GraphHopper
  • how much would such a configuration cost

Thanks in advance

For all of those profiles and elevation data, I suspect you’d need 256GB of RAM. I only use one profile myself (foot) and just about get away with 64GB, so can’t say for sure though. The number of requests shouldn’t be an issue on a reasonably spec’d server.

Can I assume you also don’t want any downtime whilst you reprocess the latest OSM data? If so, then you’ll likely need a second server of the same specification, and you’d run them in an A/B fashion. So in January you’d serve all traffic from server A, and on server B you’d process the latest OSM data. Then in February you’d flip traffic to be served from server B, and do OSM processing on server A. And so on. This way you achieve zero downtime.

All of this comes with some administrative cost/burden though. So if you have no experience with setting up and administering servers, you’ll need someone to help out with this for sure.