Forced Heading in CH

Hi,

I have been working on customizing Graphhopper for the past 6 months or so. My implementations include creating graphs from our own databases, creating custom flag encoders, storing additional properties in edges to be returned in the response of the routing request, creating routing response having routes with multiple weightings(shortest, fastest combined in one response), and other similar tweaks to meet our requirements. All this has been running very smoothly on the server using flexibility mode (because heading and alternative routes were required).

We recently moved to offline routing on android and now the calculation of response takes very long. A benchmark route we’re using is between two points separated by about 1500 km having a lot of alternative routes. The route calculation takes about 140-160 seconds on a phone with a good processor and RAM; which is not good at all. I tried using the recently implemented Hybrid mode (LM) but the speed didn’t improve much. Then I tried enabling CH and the same response comes within 1-2 seconds. However, heading parameter is required and CH mode does not fully have that. So I tried enabling forced CH heading and tried to fix the issues coming in that.

The issue I faced in doing so was that the heading parameter was first used in getting to the closest non-virtual node. But after that, the heading was not considered in getting the best path because the weights are pre-stored in the shortcuts file from the starting non-virtual node to the ending non-virtual node. The problem is shown in the two cases shown in figures 1 and 2 (at the end of this post).

As a workaround, I included an additional step in DijkstraBidirectionRef class right before the condition

if (newWeight < bestPath.getWeight())