Add extra parameter to each edge of graph

I’m very new to graphhopper, and am trying to use it for an android application I’m developing. I’d like to assign each road a “danger” factor (think some integer) such that I can then modify the routing to give a higher weight to more “dangerous” roads. I’ve spent several days looking over the sample code provided, but I’m struggling to understand how to implement this.

I understand that I need to create my own class MyGraphHopper that extends GraphHopper and override the createWeighting() function with my weighting function that would balance road distance/speed with danger. However, I don’t understand where and how I can add another int parameter (the danger) to be associate with each edge in the graph.

How can I associate a new integer value (the danger) with each edge in the graph graphhopper uses?

Thank you!

You can extend the FlagEncoder class and add the extra parameter intended in the applyWayTags method. Check out MotorcycleFlagEncoder class for reference where a curvature tag is added.

1 Like

Thank you! This was very helpful. What is the difference between handleWayTags and applyWayTags? In which of these functions do I update the value of my “danger” parameter.

I’ve included my code below where I hard-code the danger value to be “5” in both the handleWayTags and applyWayTags methods. Which is right, and does the code make sense? Thank you so much

public class DangerFlagEncoder extends CarFlagEncoder {
private EncodedValue dangerEncoder;

@Override
public int defineWayBits(int index, int shift) {
    // first two bits are reserved for route handling in superclass
    shift = super.defineWayBits(index, shift);
    //EncodedValue(String name, int shift, int bits, double factor, long defaultValue, int maxValue)
    dangerEncoder = new EncodedValue("Danger", shift, 4, 1, 0, 10);
    shift += dangerEncoder.getBits();
    return shift;
}
@Override