Consider amenities when routing (weighting)

Do you think it would be possible to consider amenities when routing? I’d like to implement routing that would prefer route via certain types of amenities (drinking water, restrooms, fuel stops).

I was thinking this could be achieved with the use of virtual nodes like in QueryGraph.

I’m new to graphhopper and still learning about it and what it is capable of. I haven’t seen anywhere any mention or use of amenities, only tags.

Any help is appreciated.

Regards, Mitja

Yes, this is possible. See e.g. how to avoid pubs :slight_smile: https://graphhopper.com/blog/2015/11/15/publess-routes-graphhopper-edition/

Thank you for your answer.

Definitely an option but I’m not sure this is what I was looking for. I don’t think I expressed my intentions clear enough :slight_smile:.

I’d like to make graphhoppeer suitable for planing a trip with electric vehicles where you NEED to stop on a charging station every X km/mi. That’s why I think virtual nodes with virtual edges would be more appropriate so the routing algorithm could visit particular node or not, and it would definitely not need to visit every stop along the route.

Another thing I plan to add is another weighing implementation that would prefer routes with lower energy consumption. That part is trivial.

I think I need more time looking at the code to figure how things can be done and what can be done (also what can not be done).

A problem like this requires usually OR (as you could easily get more constraints) and so it probably requires a software like jsprit.

One possibility to avoid additional software and for the more simpler requirements is to change the Dijkstra algorithm, limit the range and always extend the range once such a station is reached. You would have to store the range and number of charges in the SPTEntry - you can have a look in the pt branch where we do similar changes necessary to do public transit routing optimized regarding transfers etc.